Standards and Ethics
August 31, 2021
Standards and Ethics
August 31, 2021

Every licensed home inspector in Massachusetts is required to adhere to the Standards of Practice set forth by the Board of Registration of Home Inspectors, which are codified in 266 CMR 06.  (CMR = Code of Massachusetts Regulations).  

At Kensa there’s more to it, a lot more

Like many professions, home inspection is a licensed and regulated field in Massachusetts.  (That is not the case in every state.)  Here’s an overview, with links to information provided by the Commonwealth.

First up, there are some significant prerequisites to becoming licensed:

  • Complete 75 hours of approved classroom training
  • Pass the National Home Inspector Exam
  • Perform 25 inspections directly supervised by a fully licensed inspector
  • Apply for an Associate Inspector license
  • Conduct 100 paid inspections that are supervised (directly or indirectly) by a fully licensed inspector
  • Work for a fully licensed inspector for a minimum of one year
  • Apply for a Home Inspector license
  • Meet ongoing Continuing Education requirements to maintain a valid license
A full license is required to legally operate a home inspection business as a solo operator or to supervise Associate inspectors

It’s not easy, and it’s not quick. For example, getting that first 25 inspections can be very difficult.  Most inspectors will not do it, or they will charge an apprentice a fee for every inspection.  Their reasoning is that they don’t want to train the competition.  Ken Ray, founder of Kensa, does not agree with that at all.  He believes deeply in paying it forward (thank you Peter O.!), and has extended training offers to several people just in the last month alone.

After getting an Associate Inspector license and finding employment with a licensed inspector, it can take 100 or more training inspections before finally being deemed ready to go out on your own without direct supervision.


As mentioned, there are Standards of Practice (SOP) every inspector must follow on every inspection. Among other things, the SOP describes what must be included in an inspection, as well as what is not required.  Different inspectors use the SOP in different ways.  At Kensa the standards represent the minimum level of effort, not the maximum.  For example, oil tanks are always inspected and reported on in writing even though it is not required.  Stay tuned for a future Resource article for more details on the extra items above and beyond the SOP that are included in every Kensa inspection. 

Standards of Practice

Your Kensa inspection agreement includes a link to the latest SOP for easy reference


There is another section in the regulations, 266 CMR 8, called “Professional Competence and Conduct”.  For example, there are rules about providing or accepting gifts, deceptive advertising, and more.  These regulations are never mentioned by other inspectors.  That is not meant to imply that other inspectors are unethical, just that it's not a priority for them to mention ethics in describing their company. Again, the Kensa approach is the opposite: We believe in full transparency and clarity in everything we do.  (Hence this article!)  Read the code of conduct here:

Professional Competence and Conduct

Another great example of the Kensa difference!

As you can see, there is a lot going on behind the scenes that influences every Kensa inspection for every client. We always have full transparency in all aspects of how we operate and in how we partner with agents and buyers. Kensa goes beyond the standards to provide exceptional service every time.


Complete Home Inspector Statutes and Regulations

Board of Registration of Home Inspectors